Prep School.

Photo by Jonathan Boncek

You may have seen K. Cooper Ray’s Social Primer reversible bow ties at Brooks Brothers, and he recently came out with his first solo collection. I caught up with the designer before he headed off to New York Fashion Week.

“You see me out dressed, and half the time some might consider me a clown,” Ray says. “I really push the limits of go-to-hell prep. My reasoning for doing that, other than I’m just an eccentric kook, is that I feel like if I’m dressed really eccentrically, I feel like the other guys out there will see me and think, OK, I can go another step further. At least no one’s going to look at me, they’re looking at him.”

Read more choice quotes from Ray here.

Leave a Reply

