Soaking It In.

Design Sponge founder Grace Bonney is just as cool/sweet/smart as she seems. We chatted about her favorite spaces, the evolution of her own aesthetic, and design trends that have run their course.

“I so don’t want anyone to put a bird on anything ever again,” she laughs, referring to an episode of IFC series Portlandia where people are encouraged to “put a bird on” anything to make it more stylish. “I think it’s funny how that saying in Portlandia has sort of revived the bird trend. I think it was finally at its last gasp, and then when that came back, I think people started using that as an excuse to slap birds on anything again under the guise of being ironic, but I think people just kicked the trend back into gear … I think irony in design is a little overused right now. I think it’s sort of a disguise for laziness in the design work.”

Here’s the full interview.

Leave a Reply

