Super Fly.

Sometimes, as a journalist, you have to write about things you know absolutely nothing about. Like when I was asked to write about bamboo fly rod maker Bill Oyster, whose artisinal rods sell for up to $17,000. He was a fascinating guy to interview, especially when he told me about how he started his company.

“It was totally a hobby gone wild, kind of like everybody dreams of doing, but mine just went despite my efforts,” Oyster says and laughs. “The first rod I made, Shannen [his wife] said, ‘You are going to sell these.’ I said, ‘I will never sell these. I do this for myself.’ Before I knew it, I had more orders than I could keep up with, and I realized it wasn’t so bad after all to do what I love all day every day, even if someone ended up with it when I was done.”

You can read the full story here.

Leave a Reply

